ENDURING AND BEAUTIFUL

Standard

(Previously published in confetti Magazine)

ENDURING AND BEAUTIFUL 

I found the last pay phone in Memphis and called Jesus collect

I was out of quarters and dimes don’t work anymore

The voice on the other end

somewhere in ether

said the line is disconnected

Has been for some time

*

There was a chance Mr. Siegel might be home

so I walked to the nearest whore house

across the street from a Catholic church

And I’ll be damned if the Devil’s porch light

wasn’t left on

*

Why can’t all dreams and song and poetry written in blood come true

offer even a flicker of light

like a match from a free matchbook does in our favorite barroom dives

*

The deal is done the gig is up

I’m leaving town on the first rail at the first sign of dawn

Just before sunrise any dream can be fulfilled 

Leave a comment